.

Chat with a LIVE Child Support Specialist 

Wage Withholding

The Family Support Act of 1988 requires that child support payments be withheld from a noncustodial parent’s paycheck from the time that the child support is ordered. The noncustodial parent's earnings will be withheld unless he/she can 1) show good cause why it should not be done or 2) has an alternate arrangement with our offices and the custodial parent. (Good cause and alternative arrangements concerning earning assignments are specified in California Family Code Section 5260).

The employer of the noncustodial parent/obligor is served with a court order or notice to withhold a specified amount of current support and back child support, with instructions to send the wages to our office for distribution. The assignment becomes effective as soon as possible, but not later than 10 days from the date you receive it. Once a wage assignment is served, the employer must honor it as long as the noncustodial parent remains employed with the employer. Earnings and income must be withheld from each payment and your check sent within 10 days.

Requirements

Liability

If you willfully fail to withhold and forward support, you may be personally liable for the amount of support not withheld, and you may be held in contempt of court. You may, however, deduct up to $1.50 from the obligor’s earnings for each payment that you make.

Anti-discrimination

California law forbids you from discharging an employee/obligor from employment, refusing to employ, or taking disciplinary action against any employee because of a child support withholding.

Termination notification

California Family Code Section 5260 requires that the employer cooperate with and provide relevant employment information to our offices for the purpose of enforcing, modifying, or establishing the support obligation. If the employee/independent contractor whose name appears on the assignment terminates his/her employment or business relationship, you must notify our office immediately so that proper action can be taken to relieve your obligation to deduct the payments. Please provide our office with the following information:

  • Employee’s/Obligor’s Name
  • Employee’s Case Identifier
  • Last Known Home Address
  • New Employer’s Address
  • Date Of Separation

Amount to Withhold

Earnings

Earnings for purposes of a wage assignment include: 1) wages, salary, bonuses, vacation pay, retirement pay, and commissions paid by an employer; 2) payments for services of independent contractors; 3) dividends, interest, rents, royalties, and residuals; 4) patent rights, and mineral or other natural resource rights; 5) any payments due as a result of written or oral contracts for services or sales, regardless of title; 6) payments due for workers' compensation temporary benefits, or payments from a disability or health insurance policy or program; and 7) any other payments or credits due regardless of source. You may be required to report and withhold from lump sum payments such as bonuses, commissions, or severance pay.

Priority

The wage assignment order has priority over any other withholding order against the employee/obligor. Federal tax levies in effect before receipt of this order have priority. If there are Federal tax levies in effect, please contact our office.

Withholding Limits

You may not withhold more than the lesser of: 1) the amounts allowed by the  Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. § 1673(b)); or 2) the amounts allowed by the State of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment. The Federal limit applies to the aggregate disposable weekly earnings (ADWE). ADWE is the net income left after making mandatory deductions such as: State, Federal, local taxes; Social Security taxes; and Medicare taxes; along with disability insurance and payments to public employees' retirement systems. After the employee's disposable earnings are known, withhold the amount required by the wage assignment, but never withhold more than 50 percent of disposable earnings unless the court order specifies a higher percentage. Federal law prohibits withholding more than 65 percent of disposable earnings of an employee in any case.

Payments

Pay Date/Date of Withholding

You must report the pay date/date of withholding when sending a payment. This is the date on which the amount was withheld from the employee’s wages. If the employee/independent contractor is paid biweekly, you must withhold payment from the first two pay dates of each month; or, if paid weekly, the first four pay dates of each month.

Combined Payment for Multiple Assignments

If you have more than one assignment order from our office, you may combine withheld amounts from more than one employee’s income in a single payment. You must, however, separately identify the portion of the single payment that is attributable to each employee/obligor. Please include each employee’s Full Name, Member ID#, Social Security Number, and the Pay Date.

Combined Payment for an Employee with Multiple Withholdings

If an employee has more than one assignment order to our office, you may combine the withheld amounts pertaining to each order and write one single check -- no need to provide breakdown of each order. If you are unable to honor all wage assignments due to Federal or State withholding limits, you must follow the state law of the employee’s principal place of employment. You must honor all assignment orders to the greatest extent possible.

Open Saturday

 

Upcoming Saturday, we are open!

We are here to help! On Saturday, August 13, 2022, we will be open from 8am-12pm. Questions about applying for child support? Do you want to establish or modify your current child support order? Do you owe child support? We can help! 

To make an appointment, you can visit our website and click on "Appointments" at the top of our website. You will be able to select the day and time that works best for your schedule.

View our latest virtual workshop by visiting our Facebook page: FB.com/RCDCSS , or by visiting the Events page on our website – www.RivCoDCSS.com!

If you have any questions, please contact us at:

Web: www.RivCoDCSS.com

Email: RivCoDCSS@rivco.org

Phone: 866-901-3212 

#SupportRivCo #RivCoNow

 

8/13/2022 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM/Author: Michael Savall/Number of views (22)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Tags:

Driver's License Release Program - Child Support Awareness Month

We can help you get your license released!

• Was your license suspended for not paying child support?
• Do you need to get back on the road?
• Parents recently released from prison may be eligible for their license release
with no down payment!
• $25 down payment (per case) with signed agreement for future payments
• Get the process of releasing your license underway today!

 

Failure to pay may result in the suspension of more than your driver’s license. Business (construction, electrician, and land surveyors), professional (cosmetologists, nurses, counselors, therapists, doctors, teachers), recreational, and notary licenses and more are subject to suspension.
No appointment needed; visit any location:


2081 Iowa Avenue
Riverside, CA 92507


47-950 Arabia Street
Indio, CA 92201


260 N. Broadway
Blythe, CA 92223

8/1/2022 8:00 AM - 8/31/2022 5:00 PM/Author: Marquese Howard/Number of views (58)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Tags:

Enroll today! Opening a new case, just got easier!

Opening a child support case, just got easier! Our new Simplified Enrollment Process just made things faster, convenient, and easy! If you don't have all your paperwork or know all the information to enter, that's fine. You can save your progress during the enrollment and come back to it when you have the rest of the information. Visit the link below for more information or head to www.RivCoDCSS.com

One size does NOT fit all! Every child support case is different, reach out to us, and let us know how we can help!

Enroll for services today!

Visit bit.ly/3LXFPhw to get started!

Sunday, July 31, 2022/Author: Marquese Howard/Number of views (51)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: UncategorizedNews
Tags:
Thursday, February 3, 2022/Author: Anonym/Number of views (526)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 5.0
Categories: News
Tags:

Family Law Assistance

In-person assistance is not available for the month of January 2022

 

Thursday, January 13, 2022/Author: Anonym/Number of views (554)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 2.0
Categories: News
Tags:
Wednesday, January 12, 2022/Author: Anonym/Number of views (457)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

The DCSS court interview offices in Riverside & Hemet will be CLOSED, the Family Court is NOT Closed

The DCSS court interview offices in Riverside (3760 12th St, Riverside, CA 92507) and Hemet (880 N State St, Suite B1, Hemet, CA 92543) will be closed from Thursday, January 13, 2022, through Thursday, January 27, 2022.

THE FAMILY COURT IS NOT CLOSED. ALL DCSS CHILD SUPPORT COURT HEARINGS REMAIN AS SCHEDULED AND WILL BE CONDUCTED TELEPHONICALLY DURING THE CLOSURE PERIOD.

  1. For hearings in Riverside Family Court, call # 951-955-4520 by 8:30 AM to check-in for your hearing. 
  • For hearings in Hemet Family Court, call # 951-791-2251 by 8:30 AM to check in your hearing. 
  • If you do not check-in for your hearing, the court may enter orders against you in your absence.

Wednesday, January 12, 2022/Author: Anonym/Number of views (351)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

The 2022 Pass Through Increase: Effective January 1, 2022

ATTENTION: Parents Currently Receiving Cash Assistance from CalWorks

Starting January 1, 2022, if you receive cash assistance for your child or children through the CalWORKs program, the amount of the current month’s child support payment that is “passed through” to you may change from $50 up to $100 if you have one child, and up to $200 if you have two or more children living in the home. This is because the law that covers this “pass-through” has permanently changed. If the current child support collected is less than $100 for 1 child or less than $200 for 2 or more children, you will only receive the amount collected, NOT the increased amount. There is no action required and the increase will automatically start for child support collected on or after January 1, 2022. Have questions or want more information? Call us at (866) 901-3212 or visit childsupport.ca.gov/faq

Wednesday, December 29, 2021/Author: Anonym/Number of views (498)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

Ways to Reach Us During COVID!

Set your virtual appointment today! Click on appointments tab above

Wednesday, December 29, 2021/Author: Anonym/Number of views (411)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

🚗Driver License Release Program is Here!!

No appointment needed, Visit any location

Tuesday, December 28, 2021/Author: Anonym/Number of views (574)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:
RSS
123