.

Chat with a LIVE Child Support Specialist 

Wage Withholding

The Family Support Act of 1988 requires that child support payments be withheld from a noncustodial parent’s paycheck from the time that the child support is ordered. The noncustodial parent's earnings will be withheld unless he/she can 1) show good cause why it should not be done or 2) has an alternate arrangement with our offices and the custodial parent. (Good cause and alternative arrangements concerning earning assignments are specified in California Family Code Section 5260).

The employer of the noncustodial parent/obligor is served with a court order or notice to withhold a specified amount of current support and back child support, with instructions to send the wages to our office for distribution. The assignment becomes effective as soon as possible, but not later than 10 days from the date you receive it. Once a wage assignment is served, the employer must honor it as long as the noncustodial parent remains employed with the employer. Earnings and income must be withheld from each payment and your check sent within 10 days.

Requirements

Liability

If you willfully fail to withhold and forward support, you may be personally liable for the amount of support not withheld, and you may be held in contempt of court. You may, however, deduct up to $1.50 from the obligor’s earnings for each payment that you make.

Anti-discrimination

California law forbids you from discharging an employee/obligor from employment, refusing to employ, or taking disciplinary action against any employee because of a child support withholding.

Termination notification

California Family Code Section 5260 requires that the employer cooperate with and provide relevant employment information to our offices for the purpose of enforcing, modifying, or establishing the support obligation. If the employee/independent contractor whose name appears on the assignment terminates his/her employment or business relationship, you must notify our office immediately so that proper action can be taken to relieve your obligation to deduct the payments. Please provide our office with the following information:

  • Employee’s/Obligor’s Name
  • Employee’s Case Identifier
  • Last Known Home Address
  • New Employer’s Address
  • Date Of Separation

Amount to Withhold

Earnings

Earnings for purposes of a wage assignment include: 1) wages, salary, bonuses, vacation pay, retirement pay, and commissions paid by an employer; 2) payments for services of independent contractors; 3) dividends, interest, rents, royalties, and residuals; 4) patent rights, and mineral or other natural resource rights; 5) any payments due as a result of written or oral contracts for services or sales, regardless of title; 6) payments due for workers' compensation temporary benefits, or payments from a disability or health insurance policy or program; and 7) any other payments or credits due regardless of source. You may be required to report and withhold from lump sum payments such as bonuses, commissions, or severance pay.

Priority

The wage assignment order has priority over any other withholding order against the employee/obligor. Federal tax levies in effect before receipt of this order have priority. If there are Federal tax levies in effect, please contact our office.

Withholding Limits

You may not withhold more than the lesser of: 1) the amounts allowed by the  Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. § 1673(b)); or 2) the amounts allowed by the State of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment. The Federal limit applies to the aggregate disposable weekly earnings (ADWE). ADWE is the net income left after making mandatory deductions such as: State, Federal, local taxes; Social Security taxes; and Medicare taxes; along with disability insurance and payments to public employees' retirement systems. After the employee's disposable earnings are known, withhold the amount required by the wage assignment, but never withhold more than 50 percent of disposable earnings unless the court order specifies a higher percentage. Federal law prohibits withholding more than 65 percent of disposable earnings of an employee in any case.

Payments

Pay Date/Date of Withholding

You must report the pay date/date of withholding when sending a payment. This is the date on which the amount was withheld from the employee’s wages. If the employee/independent contractor is paid biweekly, you must withhold payment from the first two pay dates of each month; or, if paid weekly, the first four pay dates of each month.

Combined Payment for Multiple Assignments

If you have more than one assignment order from our office, you may combine withheld amounts from more than one employee’s income in a single payment. You must, however, separately identify the portion of the single payment that is attributable to each employee/obligor. Please include each employee’s Full Name, Member ID#, Social Security Number, and the Pay Date.

Combined Payment for an Employee with Multiple Withholdings

If an employee has more than one assignment order to our office, you may combine the withheld amounts pertaining to each order and write one single check -- no need to provide breakdown of each order. If you are unable to honor all wage assignments due to Federal or State withholding limits, you must follow the state law of the employee’s principal place of employment. You must honor all assignment orders to the greatest extent possible.

Board of Supervisors Appoint New Health Officer

Riverside County News Release

During yesterday's closed session meeting, the Riverside County Board of Supervisors appointed Dr. Geoffrey Leung as the county’s new health officer, effective immediately.
Dr. Leung has been an integral member of the county’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic for the past year. Most recently, Dr. Leung has led the county’s Incident Management Team for the Riverside County vaccine rollout since December.

Wednesday, March 24, 2021/Author: Waldir/Number of views (351)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

Coffee Break's Episode 2 with Special Guest DPSS! Available Now! ☕

listen to our Expresso Shot! with Nathan Hartel & Department of Public Social Service (DPSS)

RivCoDCSS Coffee Break Podcast Season 3, Episode 2 with our host Nathan Hartel, Deputy Director of Programs and Operations is available now! This episode is an “Espresso Shot”, quick, over fast, but full of flavor and packs a punch! Information is shared about the RivCoDCSS helpful resource page and a new Job and Career Resource page.  Upcoming events are discussed!  Grab a cup of coffee, sit back, and listen to the podcast on our website, youtube or subscribe on your podcast client! It’s an episode not to miss! 

Friday, March 19, 2021/Author: Waldir/Number of views (356)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

Coffee Break Podcast! New Season 3 is Here!

with Nathan Hartel

Riverside County Department of Child Support Services (RivCoDCSS) Season 3 will focus on our Community Partners and the Resources available to Riverside County residents. These Community Partners have the same ideals and commitment as RivCoDCSS to serve our clients and the community.

Friday, February 19, 2021/Author: Waldir/Number of views (354)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags:

New Services Fees

https://childsupport.ca.gov/servicefees/

Starting in February 2021, all credit and debit card transactions will include a service fee. You have four (4) options to make a payment with your credit or debit card.

Online:

  • Credit and debit cards processed online will charge a 1.9% service fee on every transaction. This fee is paid to the card processor and is not kept by Child Support Services.
  • Make an online payment now.

By phone:

  • Credit and debit cards processed over the phone will charge a 1.9% service fee on every transaction. This fee is paid to the card processor and is not kept by Child Support Services.
  • Make a payment over the phone now at 1-866-901-3212 and select Option 1.

At your local child support agency:

  • Credit and debit cards processed through an automated payment kiosk will charge a 2.2% service fee on every transaction. This fee is paid to the card processor and is not kept by Child Support Services.
  • To find out if your county has an automated payment kiosk available, check the listing on our Find A Local Office page. 

With PayPal:

  • There is a 2.49% ($3.95 minimum) service fee on every transaction. This fee is paid to the card processor and is not kept by Child Support Services.
  • You will need your Participant ID number and a PayPal account.
  • Make a PayPal payment now.
Tuesday, February 2, 2021/Author: Marquese Howard/Number of views (322)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Tags:

COVID-19 Updates

Get up to date information regarding COVID-19 changes. With the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, California Child Support Services realizes the impact this is likely to have on case participants.  We know that for some of you, the need for financial support for your children will continue or increase. Paying parents may be experiencing the financial hardship of lost wages and worrying about the penalties for missed payments.

For up to date information, click here:

http://www.childsupport.ca.gov/covid-19-updates

Wednesday, December 23, 2020/Author: Marquese Howard/Number of views (380)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Tags:

Respite Relief for Military & Veteran Caregivers (R&R Program)

Helping Hidden Heroes Amid COVID-19

What is the Respite Relief for Military and Veteran Caregivers Program?

The Respite Relief program is a no-cost service offered by the Elizabeth Dole Foundation, CareLinx, Wounded Warrior Project, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and AARP. The program offers 24 hours of no-cost respite care to qualifying military and veteran caregivers. CareLinx and Wounded Warrior Project donated one million dollars each to stand up for this program in response to the COVID-19 pandemic to offer additional support to military and veteran caregivers.
 

Wednesday, October 21, 2020/Author: Waldir/Number of views (742)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: News
Tags: Military

COVID-19: Electronic Service of Documents

COVID-19: Electronic Service of Documents (California Rules of Court Update)

Effective April 17, 2020, additional temporary rules have been added to the California Rules of Court in response to COVID-19. To sustain essential court services in California state court and to promote social distancing, the Judicial Council announced the adoption of an initial set of Emergency Rules to the California Rules of Court, which went into effect earlier this month on April 6, 2020.

All documents served on either party can be submitted electronically by sending an email to: ServicePortal@RivCo.org

Monday, April 20, 2020/Author: Marquese Howard/Number of views (1286)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Tags:
RSS
12